Innovative Change is Exciting!

“Life has always seemed to me like a plant that lives on its rhizome. Its true life is invisible, hidden in the rhizome. The part that appears above the ground lasts only a single summer. Then it withers away–an ephemeral apparition. When we think of the unending growth and decay of life and civilizations, we cannot escape the impression of absolute nullity. Yet I have never lost the sense of something that lives and endures beneath the eternal flux. What we see is blossom, which passes. The rhizome remains.” Carl Jung

Daisy Sun by Feggy Art, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.0 Generic License  by  Feggy Art 
Another inspirational session last night, lead by Dave Cormier!  I have had a raging headache all day and into the night….I think I am learning too much!  Just when I think I am falling into a routine of comfort and normalcy, another Tuesday session throws me for a loop!  @Mick very adequately stated last night that “when I am fearless I will be bored and need to quit”.  This statement appropriately explains my approach to my teaching and my role within the school.  I thrive on the challenges of change and am motivated by innovation and all the uncertainties that accompany the “unknown”.  As I continue on my quest of creating classrooms that thrive on Open Education,   I will continue to battle the bumps, push pass the resistance and embrace “Nomadic Behavior” in an Educational Context.
Dave Cormier described a Nomad using “creative thinker” and “carve your own paths” as descriptors.  Through my school blog, with my very patient “experimental group”, I have asked the students to comment, critique and question their classmates posts.  My goal is to establish lifelong learners, critical & creative thinkers and promote a student driven conversation on a teacher driven topic.  The results have been amazing!  Students who sit at the back of the classroom and seldom offer input are posting thought-provoking, intelligent and high quality responses.  They are challenging their classmates to broaden their thought processes and contributing greatly to the overall content and dynamics of the class.
I have significantly altered the way my students are used to doing things.  Although the process has been very positive, I found myself in a very interesting conversation on Monday.  I was asked by a student why I am asking them to comment on their classmates posts.  My response was simple “I want you to think critically”.  My student was quick with a matter of fact response “That’s hard, just tell me what you want me to write”.  This dialogue supports the “stitch and weave” analogy presented by George Siemens two weeks ago.  The opportunities are endless, the results continue to amaze me and the future excites me!
~ by lorenaleibel on October 27, 2011.

4 Responses to “Innovative Change is Exciting!”

  1. Great post. Like you, every tuesday I am inspired and then overwhelmed.It is interesting to see that students are alike wherever we are. Thinking critically and creatively is hard on them and even myself sometimes if I am honest.

  2. Thanks for sharing the story about your student’s response to your request to comment and think critically. Unfortunately, I’ve seen the exact same response from graduate students! I am very optimistic for the future though, because teachers like you are “getting it”, and will pass these crucial skills on to their students, so that when they are in grad school one day in the future, they will understand the need to interact, take responsibility for their own learning, and think critically.

  3. I LOVE this:
    “The opportunities are endless, the results continue to amaze me and the future excites me!”
    Well said!
    Here is a post that you might find interesting:
    http://plpnetwork.com/2011/04/21/what-do-we-mean-by-authentic-learning/
    Cheers,
    Dave.

  4. Great job Lorena. I really like the way you’re weaving together what you’re learning and your narrative approach to blogging. And, of course, I’m really excited to hear of the successes of your class so far, and how you are having your students support each other’s learning in this way. This is powerful stuff!

    Thanks for the solid post, and great linkbacks to those you are reading.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

